Computer? Confuser…

I can’t recall for the life of me, life without a computer.  I know it involved lots of fresh air, sunshine and reading, but really, life since the computer is supposed to be more simple.  Right?  I am sorry, but lately computers have ceased to do anything but confuse me and waste my time.  I spend hours staring at a metal (or plastic now, I guess) box with words on it that generally mean little to my semi-computer-literate brain.  Unless it’s the benefit of seeing into thousands of people’s lives at once on facebook, being able to send an instant message to someone in hopes they are in front of their computer rather than their snail-mail mailbox a week later or finding information on some long-reaching topic that only partially concerns me, I am finding myself having to do repetitive mundane tasks just to get my computer to work properly.  If it really were making life easier, it would be doing my laundry instead of giving me the awkward and strange desire to spend hours on my backside in an uncomfortable chair.  It would be shopping for my groceries and cooking supper and making lists of the things that need to be repaired around the house.  Or maybe repairing those things rather than listing them.  I dunno.  Some days it feels like it’s not easier having a computer around the house.   Case and point: fifteen minutes ago, I started changing the bedding and firing dirty laundry down the laundry chute.  Then I paused to call my hubby about our central vac and since I was next to the computer I then came and started a clean of my computer drives, then I came here to blog.  The pillows in my daughters room are bare and on the floor and the bed is still sitting there, bare. I haven’t even started on the other rooms.  Neither my washer nor the dryer are running and that pile of laundry is now sitting on top of the pile of laundry that I fired downstairs yesterday and the day before that.  Hmmm, easier?  No.  More distracting, yes.  More fun, once in a while.  I mean, ANYTHING is more fun than laundry, right?

Leave a Reply

